My Desk

I have never been known to be a neat person.  My entire life has been surrounded by chaos where I have stuff stashed & piled absolutely everywhere.  I know what to do, but I’m just lazy.  There I said it!  I’m lazy!  I know what to do.  I know how to do it.  I just don’t feel like it.

I have had “clear desk” on my todo list for a month now.  When it is the last thing on my page (I’ll write about my time management system another time), I work on it for 5 minutes and move on to something else.

The next few months have big changes in store.  The first change is that our office is moving locations.  We aren’t sure where, but we know we’re moving.  The second change is that we’re hoping to personally move to the Phoenix, AZ area.  What does this have to do with my desk?  If we were just moving locations, I could just pile it in a box & move the mess with me.  Since I may be leaving around the same time that we move, that means I have to actually go through everything. OMG!!!

Where does one even begin such a daunting task (believe me, if you saw my desk you’d say it was daunting!)?  The same way that one would eat an elephant…one piece at a time.

If you read all the get organized blogs out there, they all have ideas on how to organize & clean.  I think the most effective I’ve seen is to take absolutely everything off your desk & start fresh.

So I now have 3 sections on my desk…

This section is reports that need to be filed and files that my boss has taken portions of temporarily.

This one is items that need to be filed in filing cabinets in another part of our office.

And this one is items I need to go through.  Unfortunately this doesn’t include items in the drawers and cabinets that I should also go through.  One area at a time, right?

Once everything is sectioned, it doesn’t seem near as daunting (believe me, if you saw it before, you’d think otherwise!).

All I need to do now, is go through this 3rd section one item at a time and either file it, do the action required, or shred it.  If I tackle this during “waiting time” every day (time waiting for my computer to boot up, large documents to print, on hold times, etc.), I will be all finished by moving time!  Now if I could just get motivated to do the same at home…

3 Comments »

  1. 1

    Very interesting post.. I have somewhat of a split personality on the organizing front. I can’t stand my desk at work to be a mess. It is quite clean most of the time (which at times poses a problem when I am trying to find something I need, but moving on…) and I make sure that it is clean when I leave for the day. I HATE filing and I wish there were a robot or some person you could hire (for free of course) who is only there to file when I need it. When I have something that needs filing, I put it in a folder or bucket and then when the folder is too big to look at any longer, then and only then, do I file the things into their proper locations.
    So my split personality? Well at home, things are absolutely everywhere. I actually have a area in one room where I just put things that need to be put else where and I put a blanket over the pile so it does not look THAT bad… wow, it sounds worse than it looks now that I mention it. Maybe I should go look at the pile and organize it. Ugh!!

    • 2

      They say that if you can find anything within 3 minutes, you’re not disorganized. 🙂 If it’s in a pile in your room & you know it’s in the pile, you should be able to find it within 3 minutes, right?

  2. 3
    ElizOF Says:

    Nothing beats the joy of having an organized desk … until we mess it up and have to do it again. 🙂 I like the pictures you added;keep us posted and don’t be afraid to mess it up again.
    Elizabeth


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

