Resolutions

Did you make any resolutions for 2011?  We’re about 1/2 way into January now.  How are you doing so far?

I think the biggest problem with resolutions is that we feel 1/1 of any year is the only time we can make resolutions.  Why does it have to be 1/1?  Don’t you think it would be easier to make a resolution for each month of the year?

Steve Pavlina, who I first started reading for ideas on staying productive, has written many posts on his website about 30 day trials.  When I first saw this a few years ago, it completely made sense to me.  It was a way to try something for 30 days and if you like it, keep doing it.  If not, go on with your life…no biggie.  He did some big ones, such as eating only raw foods (he stuck with that one), polyphasic sleep and others that you can read about on his website.

I find that I can stick with 30 day trials much easier than I can an entire year.  A year is so very daunting, isn’t it?  I’m supposed to go to the gym 3 times a week all year sounds so much more daunting than going 3 times a week during the month of January.  If you find that you didn’t meet your goal of working out 3 times a week by 1/31, you can either revisit the trial, or change it all together.  Think of the things you can accomplish in one year doing 30 day trials.  You could have 12 newly formed habits, or you can find that you really should have resolved to play with your dogs in the park 3 times a week instead of going to the gym.  🙂

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    ElizOF Says:

    30 Day trials, like short term projects, are doable as people know the end is in sight and the results too.
    I like short term projects for the same reason but honestly, I no longer set resolutions for the beginning of the year… too much pressure.
    I set monthly goals and affirmations and forgive myself when I slip up 🙂
    Looks like I’ll be doing the vampire schedule for blog visits/comments… My day times are getting hectic…. but I’m all in. 🙂
    Elizabeth

    • 2

      I love being able to forgive myself when I slip up. I once had a teacher who would walk into the class once a week and say, “It’s a new day.” That simple saying can say so much…maybe I’ll do a post about that? 😉

  2. 3
    bethanage Says:

    I love the idea of 30 day trials. I don’t like setting New Year resolutions either. For me, I don’t like funnelling so much proposed change into one day a year. It seems insurmountable from Day 1 onwards. I’ve been trying to find a solution and your recommendations make perfect sense.
    Thanks for the post, ,I’ll let you know how I get on!

    • 4

      You’re so welcome & please do keep me posted! 30 days is really such a short time period where it’s easier to think, “I can do anything for 30 days.” Kinda like lent if you’ve ever participated in that. It’s short enough that it’s doable & sometimes it can be habit forming. Good luck!

  3. […] tried, tried, tried to be nice to this woman.  I even did a 30 day trial of trying to be nice to her every day, but at one point I just gave up.  I’m now not […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

