Things I Learned From Grandmother

I have been missing for a few days because my grandmother died suddenly on the 19th. I helped my mom & stepdad clean out the apartment, go through her belongings, and organize her estate. All of this while dodging those horrid looks of pity from people who never had the privilege to meet her. For those of you who never met her, I offer you a glimpse into her life.

She was a true southern lady. I honestly can’t remember a time when she said something negative about another. If someone said something about another, she might say, “oh the horrors!”

When we would take a trip, she would always announce, “and we’re off like a herd of turtles!”

She always had my favorite foods & drink in the fridge when I came to town.

If someone was snapping a photo, she would say “cheeeeese” for the photo op & then “you never know how good you look until you have your picture took”

She worked hard for her education & even harder once she had the degrees (yes plural from a woman who wasn’t allowed to take classes at the University where she worked because she was a female)

Don’t be afraid to stand up for your beliefs.

I can think of no one who disliked her.

Appreciate your loved ones & tell them more often than they care to hear. An whatever you do, DON’T give that look of pity to those who just lost a loved one! Honestly ask if there is anything you can do. They may take you up on it (I asked my childhood friend to go see her body right after she died before they took her for cremation).

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    eof737 Says:

    Sorry to read about your grandma’s passing… my condolences to you and your family.
    She sounds like a wonderful lady and I bet she appreciates the tribute where she is…
    Be Blessed!
    Eliz

  2. 3
    bethanage Says:

    My condolences to you… She sounds like a very inspiring lady and this is a beautiful post for her.

  3. […] many of you reading this know, my grandmother died 2 weeks ago.  We believe it was from the same heart issue that I had.  If I had not had the […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

