What I Wish Everyone Had a Chance to Read

Wow, that’s a powerful statement, huh?  Eliz over at Mirth & Motivation is doing a blog hop this week and suggested that we post on this subject.  How do I focus on just one thing with that topic?  I could focus on love, but I did that last week.  How about something that changed my life and could possibly have an impact on yours?

TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF BECAUSE NO ONE ELSE WILL DO IT FOR YOU!

There, I said it.  That is the best advice I can give.

I’ve talked about my year from hell (healthwise) here, so I won’t bore you with those details.  What I learned from that year of hell, I will forever use in taking care of myself.  It took me being adamant with my doctors telling them of my severe joint pain, heart issues, breathing issues, on & on.  It took me keeping a food journal to see what reactions I had to certain foods (sleep patterns, pain, etc.).  I then had to take the hard route…I had to give up my beloved red meat.  I could have just continued on with the beta-blockers + the asthma medicine + the pain killers for the joint pain +++++ until my medicine cabinet was TRULY a medicine cabinet!  Instead, I CHOSE to take care of myself and actually fix the problems.

Don’t simply accept it when your doctor hands you a pill and says take this because it will fix your problem.  Pills mask problems, they seldom fix them.  There are many in my family who have those pill sorters to take all their pills 3 times a day.  There are some in my family who hand the doctors a spreadsheet of all their physical issues.  We need to get active, figure out the true problem, and do what we can to live life to the fullest!

After the heart surgery and giving up all mammals, I have no need for heart meds, no need for asthma meds (reaction to the heart meds), no need for pain killers…I simply take one Zyrtek a day with my vitamins and I’m done (they’re doing an allergy panel next month to see what I’m allergic to, so we can get that corrected soon as well).

As many of you reading this know, my grandmother died 2 weeks ago.  We believe it was from the same heart issue that I had.  If I had not had the surgery, my heart could have continued down the same path.

You may say that you aren’t able to function without xyz pill because it takes the pain away.  Look at the underlying reason for your pain.  Is it inflammation?  If it’s inflammation related, research inflammation free diets and try cutting out certain foods for 30 days to see what happens.    You may be amazed that the inflammation goes down to a level where you need a smaller dose, or you may be able to get rid of the pills altogether.  Our bodies are amazing machines that have to be loved and nurtured.

So, once again, take the time to TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF.  You MUST be your own advocate because there is no one out there that knows your body and health as well as you do.

10 Comments »

  1. 3
    eof737 Says:

    You said it beautifully. We must start with self care and then we are able to care for others. You have a beautiful blog and I love visiting . Keep it up. 🙂
    Thanks for linking up on the blog hop and see you soon. 🙂
    Have an abundant year!
    Elizabeth

    • 4

      Thank you. 🙂 I look forward to more of your blog hop challenges! BTW – any help on getting the code for the social buttons at the bottom of my blogs would be most appreciative.

  2. 5
    eof737 Says:

    By the way,
    We did well. 20 brave souls signed on; do check them out and comment back… Awesome!
    Thanks again for linking up on the blog hop and see you soon. 🙂
    Have an abundant year!
    Elizabeth

  3. 8
    frizztext Says:

    try cutting out certain foods for 30 days to see what happens…
    a good advice!

  4. 9
    nrhatch Says:

    Love grows within
    You are the garden
    Nurture yourself

    Cheers! Hope you’re enjoying the blog hop!

  5. 10
    tbaoo Says:

    thank you deb, i was going to leave a pithy “silly” comment, but that wouldn’t be right at all. alan


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

